Menu

Online walks

Printed header Barcode

Online walks – March 2017

Walking websites

Britain on Foot (http://www.britainonfoot.co.uk/)
Britain on Foot™ has one clear objective, to encourage more people in Great Britain to get active outdoors. It’s all about getting fitter, healthier and happier! This could mean walking to work, hillwalking, geocaching with the family, trail running or even mountaineering.
Cleveland Way (http://www.nationaltrail.co.uk/clevelandway/)
The Cleveland Way is 109 miles / 176 Kilometres around much of the beautiful North York Moors National Park.
Dog Walks Yorkshire (http://dogwalksyorkshire.com)
A free dog-friendly walking guide to the best of the Yorkshire countryside. All walks are dog-friendly and have clear, easy-to-follow, step by step directions plus maps and pictures to help you and your pooch stay on track.
Footpath maps (http://maps.northyorks.gov.uk/connect/?mapcfg=Out_and_About)
Rights of Way in North Yorkshire (tick the 'Public rights of way' box)
Hambleton Strollers (http://www.walkingforhealth.org.uk/walkfinder/yorkshire-and-humber/hambleton-strollers-walking-for-health)
Short and healthy walks around Thirsk
Long Distance Walkers Assoc. (http://www.ldwa.org.uk)
For people with the common interest of walking long distances in rural, mountainous or moorland areas.
North York Moors National Park (http://www.northyorkmoors.org.uk/visiting/enjoy-outdoors/walking/our-walks)
Pick a route, download the walking guide, enjoy your day – it's that simple!
Ordnance Survey (http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/shop/custom-made-maps.html)
Buy a customised map online
Swaledale Outdoor Club (http://www.swaledaleoutdoorclub.org.uk)
Very lively climbing, walking, skiing, canoeing, caving, cycling, mountain biking, windsurfing and fell running club based in Richmind
The Swale Way (http://www.swaleway.org.uk)
The Swale Way is a long distance footpath which follows the River Swale from Boroughbridge, where it joins the River Ure, to its source high above Kirkby Stephen.
Thirsk Blue Plaque Trail (http://www.visitthirsk.org.uk/pages/plaques.php)
A short historical journey round the picturesque market town of Thirsk.
Thirsk Past & Present walk (http://www.visitthirsk.org.uk/pages/boards.php)
A town and countryside trail that has been designed by the local community.
Walk4Life (http://www.walk4life.info)
Find a walk now, thousands to choose from.
Walkers are Welcome (http://www.walkersarewelcome.org.uk/)
Walkers are Welcome UK Network is a nationwide initiative to encourage towns and villages to be ‘welcoming to walkers’. The network has expanded rapidly and there are now over 100 locations across the UK that have joined this innovative community-led scheme to benefit from Walkers are Welcome accreditation. Thirsk is an Associate Member and expects to be a full Member shortly.
Walking in Yorkshire (http://www.walkinginyorkshire.co.uk/thirsk.php)
Free local walks to download and print.
Walking World (http://www.walkingworld.com)
The UK site with a database of walks from all round the country - complete with Ordnance Survey maps
Where2Walk (http://where2walk.co.uk)
Where2walk presents the best walks in the Yorkshire Dales, the best walks in the Lake District and the best places to stay to fully appreciate them
White Horse, Kilburn (http://www.visitthirsk.org.uk/pages/whitehorse.php)
The White Horse, Kilburn. A good starting point for walks around Sutton Bank.
 

Actions